Creating the wedding YOU want

As someone who has a wedding planning business and a wedding blog, you may find it hard to believe that I haven’t always been obsessed with weddings. I’ve always been an organized person who loves to do lists and taking charge. In college I got involved with the event planning group on campus and got hooked. But weddings? Nope. Not my thing. I didn’t even plan on getting married – my life plan involved a Ph.D. and like seven Labrador retrievers. No husband, just dogs and books.

So how’d I get here?

While working on my master’s degree, I met the most wonderful man. And I became one of those women who says things like, “When you meet the one, you just know.” I did know, from our very first date that he was something different, something special. In the almost three years we’ve been together, we’ve definitely had our ups and downs. We’ve had our share of arguments, disappoints, and disasters – but we’ve shared lots of memorable moments, and plenty more unremarkable ones. We’ve shared illnesses, laughed over the silly things our dogs (just two dogs!) have done, and we’ve even shared moments of defeat and sadness.

When we got engaged, we thought we’d have a small wedding, just some close friends and family. But the more we talked, the bigger the plans got. And as someone who had never thought about what I wanted my wedding to be like, I was suddenly overwhelmed by the sheer number of decisions and details that needed to be tended to. Although I was a bit unfamiliar with the wedding industry, I felt at home in wedding planning – my years of experience with planning events really paid off.

The end result was a day that was perfect for my husband and I. We were able to make the wedding a real reflection of us a couple, and perhaps more importantly, we were able to share it with all the people that really matter to us – our friends and our families.

I always thought that they saying that your wedding is one of the best days of your life was SO cheesy and fake. Guess what? I was wrong. Our wedding was incredible and I will probably always think of it as one of the best days of my life. Why? Because we had the rare chance to celebrate our love with our friends and family, most of who traveled hundreds of miles to be there, flocking to Ohio from Arizona, California, Texas, Virginia, and New York, just to mention a few.

When planning our wedding, my hubby and I had one goal in mind: we wanted to have an amazing party and make it a night to remember. From the tiny potted pansies on the tables to the embroidered aprons we worn to protect our clothes from the BBQ to the boozy snow cones, our wedding was just that – fun.

Wedding planning often feels like you’re being pulled in a hundred different directions. Everyone has opinions. What helped keep me focused while planning the wedding was focusing on creating an event that fulfilled our deepest desires for the wedding. So as you begin putting together your dream day, take a moment to reflect and figure out what matters most, and start creating plans around that. I recommend sitting down with your partner and creating a list of three must-haves for your special day. Use those three must-haves to guide your planning process. Our three must-haves were an awesome photographer (shout out to @BryonBlackPhotography who was incredible!), great food and drinks (BBQ + boozy snow cones + full open bar), and gluten free cake (my hubby has Celiac – he wanted to be able to eat our cake!)

What are your three must-haves?

474.JPG

Leave a Reply

